40+ training

Hello,

So I’ve been running for a few years and have played sport most of my life on and off (and also been a waste of skin for many years too). I recently decided to get into triathlon as I live in Bolton and have been inspired by the Ironman event and friends who have done it.

Im 44 next month and I’m reasonably fit and ran many half’s and 1 full marathon.

During lockdown I bought a decent road bike and a turbo trainer and swimming stuff. Obviously swimming is not available right now although there are some icy open water venues near by I may brave in the coming months.

I’m looking for training advice in terms of improvement. What sorts of distances, intensity, balance of bike, running and strength etc etc. I can easily carve out an hour a day and more on some days. Or do I need to spend more time training?

I did a plan last night that looks like this:
Mon - Easy run 45 mins
Tuesday - turbo trainer 1 hr
Weds - easy run 1 hr
Thurs - 5k run race pace
Friday - easy cycle 1 hr
Sat - brick session 20k bike 10k run
Sun - rest day, family walk.

I’m currently flitting around between running and Zwift. I’m enjoying the bike more as I’ve defo got fitter on it in the 4 months I’ve had it. I’ve only been out on the road 3 or so times as I got it in October ish.

Any tips greatly appreciated. I do like running further to be honest but is this needed? I’m looking at standard Tri training for now and maybe some longer focussed stuff later. I also like trail running and am lucky to have some great trails over Rivington.

Thanks in advance.
John

4 Likes

Local to you.

Know a few of the Bolton/ Leyland/ Preston based tri nuts.

I think it was Jim that said that you can’t really have a bad plan to start with, yours looks fine.

You will respond to it, or not, and can then adjust and move on.

All kinds of talk as to if the race is actually happening this year, we are in the lap of the Gods I guess.