Etape Du Tour 2020

This year I did the Etape du Tour a week before IM Hamburg. Rather than learn from my mistakes, next year I have entered the Etape du Tour a week ahead of Roth

The 2020 Etape is in Nice, one of my favourite cities, the course looks stunning, and much less challenging than 2019. Since I had a top 1000 finish last year, I will be seeded in the first wave.

Better get entries in soon, apparently sold out in 4 days last year

2 Likes

Seems pretty straightforward compared to last year! I’m racing IM on the 12th July, so can’t see this being considered sensible, notwithstanding your prior demonstration it’s possible!

I’m a bit confused though 
 both Roth and the Etape are on 5th July from what I can see???

Luckily I realized that before I put my entry in.

1 Like

I’ve zero experience of this sort of thing 
 but that looks a bit soft for an etape doesn’t it? Or have i just been desensitised by watching too much of the pro race over the past few years? 3.5k of climbing in 180km doesn’t seem that big a deal? Or is it more about the fact you’re riding on a stage of the tour as opposed to being a savage event in itself?

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

There was definitely an element of it being a pretty cool experience to have some of the razzmatazz that goes with “the Tour”, and the closed road descents were a lot of fun.

But in general, I’d agree. I finished this year’s saying it was the hardest thing I’d done. Way harder than IM (altho that may well be down to relative preparation for the two). However, the 2020 one looks like I could probably do it tomorrow if I took my time.

Nice is nice though. And if timing had been better, I may have considered it just as a fun trip and a good training day. You just can’t get those kind of climbs in this country, and I don’t think I’d ever be as confident on the descents as you can be when you know it’s 100% closed roads, so a diy training weekend isn’t entirely the same.

1 Like