Tubeless blown off the rim

Really weird thing for me today.

I’m new to tubeless but got them on ok and have done probably 100k on them (Conti 5000 TL).

For various reasons then bike was then left for a few weeks and I just took it out today to check it over. Pumped up the tyres to 90psi (stated max on both tyre and rim is 108psi). Rode down the road and back, a few hundred meters. Popped in it the garage to fit a saddle bag and while it was simply standing there - BOOM! - the whole rear tyre popped off.

WTF?

Should have bought tubs

Sounds like clubmates who ride tubeless.
I’ve only seen pain with these tires.

My LBS are not convinced by Road tubeless. 90psi sounds like a lot for a TL tyre; you can run a 25mm normal clincher lower than that and 28mm way lower.

Tubeless may well be the future but I think the technology is still not fully mature (not dissimilar to the disc/rim brake debate)
Whilst great in the theory there are still practicalities to be resolved. Fixing anything the sealant can’t deal with is still a bit hit & miss. Fit a tube but you still have the difficulty of getting the tyre on the rim. Don’t fit a tube, how do you get enough air in quickly enough to seal the bead.
We may all end up on disc braked tubeless bike at some point but at the moment I’m in no rush to change as I still think you could end up with an obsolete set up if a new standard arrives. So I may as well stick with the obsolete set up I already have.

1 Like

BB30 though, you’re all over that yeah? :rofl:

:expressionless:

BSA threaded all the way.:grin:

2 Likes

I don’t really get the benefits of tubeless for road. Main advantage of tubeless IMHO is the ability to run at low pressures without getting pinch flats. So great for MTB and gravel, but think I’ll stick with clinchers and tubes for road

2 Likes

Quick one guys.

Tubs or Clinchers?

2 Likes

We know the answer is surely both

Why choose😋

2 Likes

Ha ha ha - awesome!
The Crr of them is amazing(ly high)