Apple Watch Series 5

Can this replace my trusted and brilliant Garmin Forerunner 920XT?

The benefit of going out for a run with just my watch sounds massively appealing.

1 Like

I’m confused, what stops you doing that with the 920XT?

I think the 920XT was the last of the “not a normal watch” garmins. The 935 and 945 are ones you wear all the time.

I work in IT and think I know best so I hate Apple products.

I have a Fenix 5 and it is great using the watch you have on all the time.

I’ve worn it as a normal watch for well over two years :man_shrugging:

1 Like

Stupid me. Was thinking about the 910XT. Carry on.

1 Like

Yeah, 910XT. That’s the one.
I can’t listen to music from it, but it does get text messages.

I wouldn’t wear my Garmin as a daily watch, it’s far too bulky.

Really? The 935/945 isn’t that bulky tbh; certainly not as much as your average gents ‘dress’ divers/sports watch.

OK, 910XT / 920XT are bulky to wear as watches, but you don’t need an Apple Watch to have an everyday watch that does swim/bike/run.

As most reports I’ve seen highlight, it’s actually pricing the Apple Watch 3 at $199 that is the biggest Garmin/Fitbit killer. If you want to connect power meters, stryd, hrm, etc, you still need a dedicated sports watch.

Yes, I was just about to ask about Apple Watch functionality for (multi)sports metrics. I just use my 935 for everything (and only add an Edge 520 for my non-commute rides); and it gives all the data.

I can’t see the Apple matching that.

No, De Ville or Constellation are a nice slim dress watch.
The sports/divers watches are too gauche.

Anyway…yes, it’s for a Garmin Killer.
And also to wear whilst at work.

HRM and Power meters are BTE, so I can’t see how I Couldnt connect these up via the App Store?

The new 5 series can do swim metrics, too.

In which case you definitely have the 920. The 910 was the last non-smart, not always on, Garmin 9xx series.