Ineos 1:59 Attempt - Breaking2 Kipchoge

So…Ineos are taking the mantle on for the latest sub2 attempt.
I see he’s also wearing a MUCH nicer colour way of Next% for the media shows, of sky blue and white.

Yeah but it’s in London, in October IF they can get the authorities to play.

I’m no weather expert (though i did work in the Met Office for a year haha), but that’s a gamble and a half on the weather front!!! Surely.

They’ve said the challenge is definitely that they’d need a three week window in order to be able to select the appropriate weather. That’s why the most realistic option is a park ring road like Battersea Park (where I do a lot of running). Parts of the road are often shut for filming etc, and they had the Formula E there in the first season.

The issue with that one is the sharp 90 degree turn at the north western corner. Maybe they could insert some artificial curbing to make the official racing line more of a sweeping bend to smooth it out. Being by the river, it can be quite wind exposed.

Someone needs to tip Kipchoge off that GPS normally measures a bit short in Battersea Park so he’s going to probably fall short of marathon distance when he uploads his 1:59:57 to Strava, and he’ll be gutted.

3 Likes

Hahahaha
That north west corner is bugger for being a GPS black spot!

I can imagine whoever holds the KOMs around there will frantically be flagging his run as suspicious.

On which grounds? :wink:

Surely inserting artificial surfaces to aid him on a road course is ‘crossing the line’? Otherwise, why not just have him run behind a big windbreak like the cycling speed record?

Outside assistance? Motor pacing, drafting, illegal equipment.

If I saw someone post a 45min 10 mile on a segment near me I would assume they were on a bike!

These attempts don’t comply with IAAF rules for the WR anyway do they? Given that, I’m not sure why they are bothering; it’s like saying you can break the Hour Record, but only when you’re moto paced.