Keto Diet

Anyone here in Keto diet? Had a discussion with my wife, who is vegan, about Keto. She was concerned because she see it being pushed in running magazines. She showed me a load of research about long term health issues with high fat, high protein low carb diets, can do really nasty things to heart. I do not practice Keto, and it really doesn’t appeal, however I told her that people do keto as there is lots of evidence to show that it improves athletic performance for long distance athletes
… to which she said show me the research. As a former researcher I know how to do research, so I sat down and started to look. What i found was a load of unsubstantiated anecdotes in favour of keto, but more alarmingly quite a lot of scientific research that shows no performance benefits and surprisingly no significant weight loss benefits.

Has anyone actually seen good research that shows benefit from Keto diet?

I dug in to it, and reached the same conclusions as you. In fact, evidence that it is detrimental to athletic performance is more robust than material in support, which as you say, is largely anecdotal.

I tried it for a bit once. I lost weight easily, I felt full, I could still eat cheese. Seemed good. But I felt rough. I would go for a gentle run and bonk after 30 minutes, and by bonk just completely stop dead and could hardly move.

No idea on the evidence. I think the issue with things like this is there is no interest or funding from proper independent bodies to research it and so often it’s done by people with vested interests and hence conflicting evidence.

One research paper did show initial weight loss as the body initially starts to consume muscle rather than using fat. Also identified that people on Keto require less fluid (cant remember science behind it but my wife will share with me tomorrow), so weight loss observed was all fluid and muscle, with negligeable reduction in fat

I only went by the scales so no idea on actual composition.