Most comprehensive UK event list?

Good afternoon, I am trying to find a good source of Tri events. I found a Tri which me and my partner were going to have a go at in early 2020 and then along came Covid which put paid to that. I have sadly forgotten what the event was called. I am looking for something with an approx 750m open water swim (not a pool) and is not BTF. I have never done a Tri before and thus this would be the first for me and my partner and would be doing it for a bit of fun. I don’t have a suitable bike for a BTF event, not the desire to buy one but I did find some which allow any bike.

2 Likes

Age group BTF events will allow all bikes, as long as they not completely wacky, tricycles etc.

There is an event finder in their website. I’m not sure I have ever done a tri in the UK that wasnt BTF, certainly always needed a licence.

ETA I’ve seen mtbs, folding bikes, even a shopping bike with a massive basket in the front in events

Would love to see someone pushing their fully faired recumbent slowly over the mount line, slowly clambering in, and then passing everyone at 60k/h

5 Likes

Yep, especially when the rider sucks at swimming and will take about 30 mins to swim the 750m.
I think my weakest point would be getting out of my wetsuit, takes me about 5 mins to get that thing off, so I will need all the speed I can get to catch up second to last place.

4 Likes

Welcome to the forums @leew

We were all there once, I did my first on a bicycle shaped object and no one laughed…in fact I got extra encouragement on the bike course :slight_smile:

As others have said the BTF site is good for finding events, and will give you confidence the event is fully insured etc and not run by complete muppets…mostly :slight_smile:

They also have events specifically labelled GoTri for newbie fun people, but there’s no limitation - you can register for any event you like.

1 Like