Strava or tattoo: Incoming!

OK, at the risk of giving Jorgan a heart attack before his race and me being expelled to IMJ (except I’m not on FB), here’s the question:

I’ve never liked social media, I’m on a couple of forums (obviously) and I work in the mobile comms industry but I can’t abide the the whole ‘barbie toes’ look at me stuff. I throw Strava in the same bucket, not as a tool, i think it’s great there, even though i don’t use it. What I can’t stand is the whole ‘if it’s not on Strava it didn’t happen’, I used to think that was a joke but I’m convinced some actually believe it.

All my digital tools are private. My Garmin account is locked, I have no Strava, no FB, no TP. I do use Zwift but it’s private. Everything I do is inputted manually on a local XLS. That’s just me, I’m not saying my way is the only way…

Here’s the thing though,

I’ve done a few IMs and countless halves, marathons, crit race, road race, track race, TT, ultra (one). I don’t I qualify as a bucket lister for IM but certainly never going to bother the FOP.

So why do I keep thinking about getting a tattoo after all these years?..:sunglasses:

Is a tatt really any worse than social media bragging? It’s a genuine question (hopefully)

A tattoo of what?

Mdot or some kind of SBR theme. Small and neat.

It’s your body and digital footprint to do with as you please!

The only thing I would say, is that Mdot tattoos are not only unoriginal nowadays, they are also a ‘brand’ logo. So effectively people are branding themselves like livestock, whilst WTC laugh their way to the bank.

4 Likes

That’s what I think when everything is rational. Then when I can’t train cos I’m at another effin kid’s party or doing freakin DIY or just drowning in the banal stuff that suburban England does, I keep thinking:

’ Christ, did I ever do anything special, in my life, cos it sure doesn’t feel like it now’