Tri coach, tri club or self coaching

What’s the general consensus on here for coaching and training plans for Ironman distance?

I was down for IMWales 2020 so now have an extra 12 months and want to make sure I use it wisely to give myself the best performance on the day.

I am not a newbie, have done IM Wales 2014 and 2015 and IM UK 2017 as well as many sprint, Olympic and middle distance races and have represented GB at AG Olympic Distance. Aspirations are top 10 AG (40-44) going to need to shave an hour off previous times for this.

In the past I have mainly been self coached but with so much training ahead of me with no racing it has become very obvious that I have just used regular racing as my training plan. Clearly I need a new strategy now!

I used a coach for IM UK and was pretty underwhelmed with the difference it made. If anything I did not enjoy the experience of being told what to do and then did not see a dramatic difference from my self coached efforts.

I started digging around for a training plan and have just started a TrainerRoad programme but at the back of my mind I am still thinking I should give a coach another go.

Just wondered what everybody on here does. Coached, Online Plans, Tri Club or just for fun?

Any suggestions for good online plans or coaches?

1 Like

that could be part of the problem…although I won’t be completely dogmatic about it (i have ‘coached’ some athletes that just want to be told what to do), and will fall into a few cliches, the journey is about developing a coach:athlete relationship where by the prescribed training and rationale is discussed, understood, agreed and, up to a point, welcomed…

2 Likes