UK swimming (northwest)

I’m new to triathlon and basically learning to swim properly. Things were slow before the latest lockdown and now progress is totally halted.

Does anyone know anywhere in the Northwest of England I can go? Safe open water places etc? It seems no one is officially open so are there any safe places I can jump in and freeze to death? Just purchased wetsuit, gloves, cap and socks (and an ice hammer).

3 Likes

You’re a braver man than me to be considering OW swimming in January.

I’m not sure where in the NW you’re based, but on Facebook there is an OW swim group called #ChesterFrosties they may be able to help you or point you in the direction of a closer group.

2 Likes

Where in the NW (roughly)?
Like Doonhamer says, the Frosties have a decent group.
Always see a few of them out and about.
Crazies more like!

I’m in Bolton. There’s tons of water but all owned by united utilities. I think Pennington flash is shut too. I think Covid is the least of my worries OW swimming right now :joy:

I don’t see I’ve got much choice really. I might just have to breast stroke the swim if Windermere goes ahead in May :man_shrugging:

A group of mostly triathletes swim in the delph Lancashire all year round.

I’m not one of them … they have organised sessions every month with a coach, I can see your keen… you really must be to even consider this and well done you.

If your learning front crawl for the first time or the first time for a long time it’s really not ideal in open water at this time of year.

But please let us know how you get on.

2 Likes

Jesus. I find OW swimming cold enough in May let alone in January!!

2 Likes

If your race happens just as the pools open the swim will most likely be cut short…

There are few wild swimming venues, Pickmere etc, let’s hope the pools re open in time

I guess if you can handle open water swimming in the north west of England in January, race day will truly hold no fear…

3 Likes